Beer galore in Cambodia

20170509_194543

I love good beers, and top of the list are German beers. In Cambodia, German beers are not uncommon all you have to do is do a little sleuthing  around and find the right place, maybe behind the  monotonous gigantic red  ads of Angkor and Cambodia beers.

20170522_163758

I happened to come across Tell Restaurant in Siem Reap, a quaint and charming restaurant near the Pub Street.  I relished a bottle of Erdinger and crispy-fried pork knuckles. Back in Phnom Penh, the restaurant has its main ‘branch’ near the Hotel Le Royal. After a meeting one afternoon, we went there to let the heavy traffic pass (I can’t imagine traffic in Phnom Penh 3 years ago!). This time we got Munchen Weisse and couple it with a platter of german sausage. Nice, except that it took us one hour from the place back to our hotel.

20170522_192309

On another night, I just walked around Boeung Keng Kang to look for a dinner, I saw the Yakitori, a small Japanese grill house at Street 278.  I called it a night after drinking Sapporo beer with grilled chicken innards.

In the same street, several shops down south, is a Khmer restaurant where they cook the best cockles in Phnom Penh.  I used to have cockles every time I am  in Bangkok, but I first tasted and enjoyed it in Phnom Penh. Angkor beer paired with cockles usually makes my night.  But a ‘serpent’ on the menu almost tempted me! I thought maybe it was just a mistranslation of eel which also look like a serpent.  In the end I stuck to my cockles.

20170521_175417

I know of the two microbreweries in Phnom Penh, one is in Himawari Hotel and the other is Munich in front of the Wat Botum. Last on my list of to-do is to visit the place and check on another favourite dish. What a way to cap the visit to Cambodia – several mugs of Munich beers and a plate of fried duck tongue!

20170523_182447

 

Leave a Reply

